top of page
  • Writer's picturebecci.h

Product Test: Boho Beach Jelly

Boho Beach Jelly


As always, I was drawn to the hair product section in Boots on my recent shopping spree. A spree I did not have the money to be doing, but regardless, I found some great bits - one being Umberto Giannini’s Beach range. It’s no surprise that my love for the seaside results in a love for beachy locks, but no matter how much sea salt spray I drench my hair with, it’s never the same as spending a windy day at the coast.


My hair isn’t the best, it’s very rare I can get my hair up into a pony tail and not have bumps here there and everywhere, and don’t get me started on messy buns…


So, when I stumbled across the Umberto Giannini ‘Boho Beach Jelly’ I couldn’t resist giving it a try. First of all, it’s pink (and pretty), and second of all it’s the perfect lazy girl product: all you do is scrunch the product into towel dried hair, then twist, braid, or scrunch to your hearts content and wake up with beachy waves! “Laziness is the true spirit of laid back beachy hair” – this product definitely sold itself before I’d even tried it… (I’m a tad lazy if you hadn’t guessed).



How to Get Boho Beachy Waves


1.

Use Beach Wash shampoo and Beach Care conditioner to clean your luscious locks


2.

Towel dry your hair best you can and blob a small amount of Boho Beach Jelly onto your hand, and run it through the mid-length to ends of your hair


3.

Either leave to air dry and keep twisting and scrunching your hair as it dries for a natural finish, or alternatively braid or twist and secure your hair and leave over night for bigger waves!


My Thoughts

On my first use of the shampoo and conditioner I did think it smells a lot better from the bottle than it does in use – but it still smells amazing! The results of these two on their own are great for helping your hair feel thicker and appear to have that ‘grit’ like texture after a long day at the beach.


I then used the beach jelly and left my hair down to air dry, which again left a wind-swept beachy feel but didn’t wave my hair massively; it had the same affect as sea salt spray! On other uses I braided my hair and followed the Mermaid Waves tutorial from the Umberto Giannini website and I’m obsessed! I woke up feeling like I was back in Cornwall or Norfolk and although reality quickly sunk in ( ☹ ), my hair has never felt better! “Beach hair… tousled, carefree, done to look undone. It’s a way of life, a way of thinking and being, energetic yet calm, beautiful yet undone” – I couldn’t agree more!



Who Doesn't Want Mermaid Hair?

Beachy waves have always been my go-to hairstyle not just because my hair thrives when I’m near the sea (the only time I ever get my hair to look nice up) but I always wake up too late to style my hair. After testing so many hairstyles and products I think I’ve finally find one that perfectly suits my hair and creates a lazy but styled look. A hot mess if you will.

I highly recommend you try it if you're hair lazy like me, or love a good beach wave. I mean, who wouldn't want mermaid hair this easily! 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page