top of page
  • Writer's picturebecci.h

8 working and studying from home tips



As we head into yet another lockdown of working and studying from home - many of us have had enough (to put it lightly). Not only can working from home be stressful when it comes to leaving work at your home desk and trying to step back into your normal home routine, but it’s also an opportunity for us to put ourselves first and do what’s best.


There’s no point complaining, all we can do is fight this together and find ways to benefit our home work spaces. I’ve been working from home since March last year, with a couple of trips to the office in between when we had a false glimpse of freedom. I was the only team member not furloughed for roughly 3 months so you could say I’ve tackled the whole working from home thing head on with no time to look back.

Now a master at remembering to have a lunch break and knowing my way round my tiny desk, I’ve put together some top tips for anyone who may be struggling or is fairly new to life working from home...



ONE

Have a proper breakfast - this is more of a note to self as I need to learn that dark chocolate digestives are not breakfast and it leaves you hungry for more even biscuits within the hour


TW0 Take breaks - especially ones for tea!! I’m guilty of spending the whole day staring at my screen without moving. This is something my mum noticed in lockdown 1 (doesn’t that feel like a lifetime ago!?) and since we’ve been working from home together we’ve make sure the more tea breaks we have the better.


THREE Talk - Whether it’s to colleges, clients friends or someone at home you need to have a natter! I’m used to a lively office so it’s good to keep the chin wagging so we don’t feel lonely or even worse, forget how to communicate with others.

FOUR

Work how you want to work - TV on, music on, or silence. I work well with quiet TV or radio in the background and the occasional ‘headphones in’ to zone out and focus completely. But that’s the bonus of working from home. You can’t have Holly and Phil on the TV or Harry Styles and Fleetwood Mac constantly playing through Google all day in the office can you?


FIVE

Dress for your success - Wear comfies or dress up, just do you. Joggers and a nice (ish) top is my go-to but if you’re feeling more slobby or dressy that’s totally fine. I can’t remember the last time I wore jeans but hey, I’m just as productive (if not more) in a pair or joggers and granny slippers than I am jeans and boots.


SIX Fruit fix - Snack on fruit not dark chocolate digestives ... just incase I didn’t listen to myself earlier

SEVEN

To do - List till your hearts content! I also end everyday with a to do list for the next day just to keep my brain in order and to help me fully switch off for the evening.

EIGHT

Logging off - Which leads me to planning activities for after work. I find I am more motivated to exercise, meet friends, or carry on my lockdown hobbies after the days I’m working from home so keeping that in mind. It’s another way to keep you in spirits high and power through the day when you know you have something planned for after! I know we can’t do exactly what we want to right now but even if it’s cooking your favourite meal or going for a walk, believe me you’ll still be happy to have something to do that’s not looking at a screen.



It’s tough not being in a familiar environment whilst balancing a world of worry on top of your day-to-day job, but the best thing to do is to stay positive. I know that’s easier said than done but think about you and your interests and what makes you happy. Even if that’s watching reruns of One Tree Hill on All 4 which seems to be my daily source of happiness right now!


You’re not working from home, you’re at home trying to work through a pandemic. You’re not alone, but you’re also on your own journey. Make the most of it.




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page