top of page
  • Writer's picturebecci.h

The Covid Diaries: The parosmia chapter



Covid, covid, covid. I know we’re all fed up of hearing about it.

Without expressing too many opinions… I’ve well and truly had enough. I’m over it.


As much as I wish I could channel Gemma Collins and promote the fact that “I’m not getting involved” - the parosmia kicked in.


Never heard of it? Me neither until recently! Let’s skip back a few months before we get stuck into the technical side of this.


Back in June, the fear of that second line appearing on the lateral flow test became a reality for me the morning of my 22nd birthday. With PCR results confirmed and symptoms well and truly flowing, Covid had f*cked me up, to say the least. Now I’d like to say I am incredibly lucky to be where I am now with my health still (mainly) in tact, and plenty of people across the world have had it worse themselves or through the loss of family members - but the point of this post is to share my side of the covid sh*t storm and hopefully raise awareness of my symptoms for anyone reading who may be experiencing similar side effects from the virus.


Now back to the gross stuff….


Covid symptoms aside (let’s just say I ticked every box on that one) the main situation I was facing once the virus had gone, just like many others, was my taste and smell disappearing.

This lasted for 2-3 months with complete loss of them both. Absolutely nothing. Zilch. Nada.


After those few months, my sweet taste just about made it’s return which I was fairly happy about. During August bank holiday weekend, as if by magic, my savoury senses came back too! That excitement however lasted a whopping 2 days before things took a turn. Enter: parosmia.


Definition:

Parosmia is a term used to describe health conditions that distort your sense of smell. If you have parosmia, you may experience a loss of scent intensity, meaning you can’t detect the full range of the scents around you”


From my experience, research and hours spent watching people’s post covid diaries on TikTok, parosmia also effects your taste too.


For me, a mould like taste has been the strongest for savoury foods. You may think that’s a blessing being able to only eat the sweet stuff… but after a while it’s really not feasible.


As this has developed, and a few months have passed, the mould taste is still here but so is a metallic/rust like taste for savoury foods, but also a bitter/soap like taste for some sweet items now.


What items taste/smell weird?

Meat (especially chicken, pork and lamb)

Eggs

Fish

Mint/tooth paste (honestly the worst, -10000/10)

Biscuits

Cooking smells

Smell of cigarettes or any smoke

Alcohol

Popcorn

Porridge

Orange and lemon

Kiwi

Sweets

Some chocolate

My shower products

Deodorant and perfume

Crisps

Gravy

Cheese

Fizzy drinks

Salad

Cereal

Noodles

Anything that’s too bland

Anything that’s too oily

Anything that’s too salty


What are the phantom taste/smells?

Mould

Rust

Off-meat

Soap

Bitterness

Just generally weird and unpleasant. Easiest (and gross) was to describe this is hot bins (lol)


What have I tried to help all this?

All the citrus

Vitamins (tablets and chews)

Specifically zinc vitamins

Energy tablets

Hot steam with vapour rub

Salt water nasal spray

Trying different styles of taste e.g salty, spicy, sweet, sour

Mouthwash

Flossing

Flavourless toothpaste

Coconut toothpaste

Strawberry protein shakes

Smothering things in BBQ sauce

Nose/smell training (trying to remember familiar smells)

Eating a lot of jam sandwiches

Going veggie and trying meat alternatives

Pinching my nose/holding break whilst eating

And essentially everything it says online, on social media and on the NHS websites


The general consensus is that there’s not enough research into the after effects of covid and the problems it causes our senses. Every guidance online basically says your tastebuds change every 2-6 months so to stick with it and see what happens. It says nowhere that you should speak to a GP about this, because again, there's not enough research into how and why this is happening.


Now I can’t say there hasn’t been progress, there definitely has. I’ve gone from fully not being able to finish any meals and feeling nauseous to at least having a few solid meals a week. Days in the office and evenings are the hardest to manage, but every time there’s a new change it gives me hope it won’t be much longer.

It’s very hit and miss and some things may be good one day then bad the next, and having eaten so much of the things that don’t taste bad like tuna, bbq sauce and fruit (not together) it’s even harder now not being able to stomach those anymore due to the repetitive nature of my eating. As someone who genuinely loves food, I've been conflicted by this now for 5 months and counting. It’s also becoming quite a mental challenge being so negative when it comes to food and noticing weight loss in myself. Just before developing these symptoms I was undergoing tests for IBS and food intolerances, which has all gone out the window now because to be honest… if it doesn’t taste bad I need to eat it right now, even if my tummy isn’t happy about it.

I really hope this has helped to either offer some education on some of the not so widely spoken about side effects of Covid-19, but also helped anyone who may have similar symptoms and haven’t been able to explain it.


All I’m praying and manifesting for is good health and to have my taste back properly for Christmas. That can’t be too much to ask for, right?







Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page