top of page
  • Writer's picturebecci.h

Comfort Movies



I’ve seen countless TikToks and Twitter threads of people sharing their go to comfort movies and being a sucker for a repeat watching the same crappy movies, I couldn’t not get involved.

Sometimes you just can’t beat those films that make you feel like you’ve just wrapped up in a blanket and snuggled up with a good cup of tea. Whether it’s a nostalgic feeling or the power of a cheesey movie, I can’t help but draw back to some of these classics.

ONE - GREASE

We’ll kick things off with my favourite film… Grease. I bloody love this film and you can’t tell me to think otherwise. I watched it every day after school when I was in year 5 which lead to me knowing the film inside and out, quotes and all. It’s a chore to watch it with me for this reason but it’s my go to feel good movie. With relish!


TWO - LOVE ROSIE

Up next is Love Rosie. Reason number one - Lily Collins. Reason number two Sam Claflin. All in all it’s a beautiful, not too cringey love story that goes by a moral I will always stand by: if it’s meant to be it will be.


THREE - MAMA MIA 2

I love Mama Mia as a movie in general, but Mama Mia 2 gives me that deeper ‘feel good’ feeling. I don’t know if it’s the slightly different soundtrack, the flash back storylines or just Lily James herself. Every time I hear it mentioned I want to watch it. Ticks the comfort box nicely.


FOUR - AQUAMARINE

Now this one is slightly random, but Aquamarine is a quality film. Mermaids, crappy teen love story and pop sensation Jojo taking on an acting role. I mean what could be better than that? It’s absolute trash, but it’s my kind of trash and I love to give it a watch every now and then.


FIVE - THE HOLIDAY

I can guarantee this one will be on most peoples lists. The Holiday is just exceptional. Cast, storyline and setting just make the perfect recipe for the ultimate feel good movie. The debate at hand though: is it technically a Christmas film? And if so does that mean it’s only really acceptable to watch it once a year? Either way it’s one to warm the heart from start to finish.


SIX - WILD CHILD

There’s a few films that define my pre/early teen years, but Wild Child has got to be my favourite. It’s an American X British melody of cringe humour and something I still enjoy to this day. Mean Girls is on a similar level to this however I see that as a great film in general, not so much a guilty pleasure. Another film in this teen category is Angus Thongs and Perfect Snogging. My favour to Wild Child is this film still comforts and humours me like it did the first time I watched it, whereas I’m happy to admit now, aged 21, that Angus Thongs really is a load of rubbish on reflection.


SEVEN - STUCK IN LOVE

If you haven’t seen Stuck In Love then get on it. Similar vibes to Crazy Stupid Love and Love Actually, taking a token family and following each of their journeys surrounding love individually. I think this is the only film on my comforts list that is genuinely a good film that everyone will love, not just a reflection of my childhood. It will make you laugh, cry and understand more about the complexity of love and relationships. A good old rom com!


EIGHT - THE PRINCESS DIARIES

I can’t talk about comfort movies and not mention The Princess Diaries. This is technically cheating because I’m talking about two films in one but who cares, they’re iconic. Julie Andrews and Anne Hathaway… whoever thought of this pairing is a genius! Me and my sister still watch these films regularly and love them to bits. You just can’t go wrong.


NINE - MONSTERS, INC

Everyone loves a good Disney film and we all have our favourites but Pixar’s Monsters, Inc just warms my heart deeply. Boo is just a mood, Sully is a legend and Mike is a comedy genius. No matter how many times I’ve seen it I’ll want to watch it again and again.


TEN - FINDING NEMO

Finding Nemo follows a similar theme, but this one’s just iconic isn’t it. I don’t know if it’s the fact it’s set in the ocean or the gradual character development in the film (it does happen, you can’t deny that they all go on an emotional journey) but it just makes me feel calm amongst all their under water chaos.


ELEVEN - THE LIZZIE MCGUIRE MOVIE

I can’t talk about feel good films and not talk about the Lizzie McGuire movie. The TV show was a big part of my childhood and the movie was just the same. If I need cheering up or a blast from the past this is my go to. We all love a bit of Lizzie!



TWELVE - A CINDERELLA STORY

And last but not least, we come to A Cinderella Story. Not only does this also star Hilary Duff from the Lizzie Mcguire, but it also stars the one and only Chad Michael Murray (aka Lucas Scott from One Tree Hill - my number one comfort TV show). The classic story of cinderella told with the teenage audience in mind. Trash, but quality trash.



In summary, give me any teen movie from the 00’s and I’ll turn it into comfort gold. What would be your top picks?




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page