top of page
  • Writer's picturebecci.h

My Cornwall Holiday

As I still have holiday blues from my trip to Cornwall, I wanted to share with you what we got up too because:

A. I haven't bored enough people with the story yet andB. because it I loved every second!

Me, my boyfriend and two friends traveled down to Cornwall for a week’s holiday, staying in a beautiful cottage in St Agnes. Prior to this, we had many holiday plans that fell through: with different plans that didn’t bring us the best luck with getting something booked under student budgets and working schedules! After the twists and turns of the holiday settled with this fab group and destination, I couldn’t have wished for a better week! In the midst of the UK’s mini ‘heatwave’ we had fantastic weather all week which gave us long days on the beach and pretty decent tans...


UK vs Abroad

If you know me, you know how much I love the beach! I’m constantly wishing I was by the sea and counting down the days until my next visit to the coast; so being able to spend long days in the sand and sun was my idea of heaven! When I was younger, we stopped going abroad for summer holidays not only because my sister terrified me by making me watch “Air Crash Investigation” programmes; but because we were spoilt with sunny weeks away in Norfolk and Devon. So, when choosing whether to go abroad or stay in the UK I’m always leaning slightly closer to the UK because of my family holiday's, and this holiday didn’t fail to quickly top my list of best holidays so I may be biased or just spoilt for choice!?


Our Holiday

We spent the majority of our week spending days on the beach: sunbathing, body boarding, exploring caves, and eating lots of ice cream, chips and pasties! Being on holiday with an amazing photographer also meant daily photo shoots on the beach (we all do it), and with competitive beach bat and ball games, body boarding competitions and sun burnt shoulders it’s safe to say we all made the most of our time on the beach!

To split up the beach days we also visited the lovely sea side town Padstow to do some essential holiday shopping and stop for fish and chips (also essential). Newquay was only a short drive away from our cottage so we spent a Morning wandering round the zoo and having an intense game of mini golf* before spending the evening with a few drinks on Porthtowan beach (Bevs on the beach if you will!).

*  I came second which I'm very proud of. I'm used to exceeding everyone's expectations for worst player!


So, although there were a few sea gull attacks and swarms of jelly fish, our week in Cornwall couldn’t have been more perfect! The Old Cornstore cottage was the perfect addition to our visit - close to all the beaches we visited and in a very welcoming village – who’s pub does an excellent roast dinner! Our evenings were spent being surprisingly good cooks whipping up some good meals most nights and catching up on the drama of Love Island with a few beers and glasses of wine (maybe too many some nights).



Holiday Blues

Being a very different holiday to my girl’s trip to Zante last year - which was my first holiday abroad since I was 7  - my mind is already debating whether to go abroad or not for next years holiday, but who can blame me when Cornwall delivered us the most fantastic week! I was in my happy place feeling grown up & loved up and can't wait to be in another holiday bubble next year, wherever it may be.


I hope you have a fantastic summer holiday wherever you choose to go, I know my holiday blues will be around for a while!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page